The Aboriginal Affairs Committee is an advisory body to City Council. Any advice or recommendations regarding Aboriginal Peoples that require action or implementation by staff must be considered by the Aboriginal Affairs Committee and approved by City Council.

Members are made up of Executive Directors and/or Designates from the Organizations and Institutions in Toronto serving Toronto’s Aboriginal population:

Current membership for 2014-2018 term:

  • Kenn Richard,  Executive Director, Native Child and Family Services Toronto
  • Nancy Martin, Miziwe Biik Aboriginal Employment and Training
  • Frances Sanderson, Administrator, Nishnawbe Homes Inc.
  • Lori Budge, Aboriginal Education Access Centre of Excellence, George Brown College
  • Jackie Esquimaux-Hamlin, First Nation’s House, University of Toronto
  • Johnathan Hamilton-Diabo, Director, First Nations House, University of Toronto
  • Barbara-Anne Felschow Central Coordinating Principal, Aboriginal Education, Toronto District School Board
  • Blanche Meawassige, Executive Director, Anduhyuan
  • Tera Beaulieu, President,Toronto and York Region Métis Council
  • Larry Frost, Executive Director, Native Canadian Centre of Toronto
  • Monica McKay, Coordinator Aboriginal Student Services Ryerson University
  • Sarah Midanik, Executive Director, Native Women’s Resource Centre
  • Joanne Meyer, Métis Nation of Ontario
  • Steve Teekens, Executive Director, Native Men’s Residence
  • Andrea Chrisjohn E.D. – Toronto Council Fire Native Cultural Centre